h1

Lost in the sauce

May 14, 2010

Are you caught where alot of MMO’ers are nowadays? That destitude place in between games. Longing for something new, and better yet, something complete to come out and suck you into it’s world? We should start a club.

What exactly pulls people into MMOs varies from person to person. For myself it’s mostly about the social experiences, teamwork, immersion and being sucked away from reality. Yes, I am an  escapist. Some may call it addiction, but I define addiction as harmful. I still get my bills paid, take care of my cats, feed the troll, get dressed, goto work, shower, etc. It just so happens that my main hobby, and passion happens to be MMO’s. So of course, I want to spend all the time I can playing them.

Which is why, and I hope I’m not the only one who feels this. When I’m not playing an MMO, or I don’t have a “main” game. It does actually effect my life. It’s like when I was a little kid with Lego’s and my childhood dog would steal them from me. Only in this case the dog is the Developer.

How many of us have been dissapointed or disheartened by a change, failed launch, blatant lies, or broken promises from developers? Will it ever end?

I have been without a, what I call, “home” MMO for nearly 5 months now. My last home was World of Warcraft. I left for gameplay reasons that I’m sure I’ll get into in another post. What I would like to talk about with this post is being a transient MMO player. Hopping back and forth from game to game just looking for a place to call home.

I loathe this. I’m typically the type to be faithful to one MMO. I don’t like to bounce around, it costs too much money and I can’t immerse and forget about reality. So I’ve been bouncing around for 5 months, and running low on hope seeing as how we’re at least a year out from any new major MMO title.

In the past few months I’ve re-subbed to the following games :

City of Heroes, Age of Conan, and Fallen Earth.

and I’ve tried the following for the first time :

Runes of Magic, Champions Online

Just to give you an idea of what I’ve been doing. Last night I re-subbed to Age of Conan, after hearing positive things about the launch of the expansion Rise of the Godslayer. Typically when I come back to a game after a long break, I start new toons. So I didn’t even look twice at my Level 43 Guardian and rolled a brand new Stygian Necromancer.

I haven’t played enough yet to determine if I like the Necromancer class, or if AoC has changed much from the problematic launch. I hated Tortage at launch, and I still hate it now. Alot of people think that Tortage is one of the highlights of the game. At least the first time through. It was enjoyable for me, but an annoyance at the same time. I somehow knew that the game would be completely different after the initial Tortage experience.. and I was right.

Anyways, now that I’m back checking out some of the new changes, and eventually the expansion content and documenting my trek from fledgling noob to the end goal of seeing and experiencing Raid content.

Alot of friends tell me that it hasn’t changed, and it’s still the same ole pile of crap. Alot of main news sites tell me that all that is in the past and have nothing but positive things to say. I’ll find out for myself, but if I get burnt by Funcom again, I think it’s safe to say I’m done being a customer with them.

Right now there is only 1 studio out there that I refuse to play games from and thats Cryptic. Releasing 2 completely un-finished games at the same time.. and now rumors of a 3rd in development whilst the other 2 games remain shotty and unfinished. I’ve lost all faith in that company.

I hope you end up enjoying this blog of mine and joining me in the adventures that I’ll be taking through different worlds.

~dorf

Leave a Reply

