h1

Who would win 10vs25?

May 15, 2010

Saturdays in my office are quiet days. Days for reflection. Days where I’d like to jump out the 5th story office window. This Saturday I’m bringing you a round of news from the past week or so, and my opinions on them.

Raid Balancing 10 vs. 25 – World of Warcraft

Though I haven’t played in a few months. I still keep up on all the news regarding the game. This has been a hot topic recently, so I figured I’d comment. Equalizing 10 man and 25 man content is not a bad thing. However, without further details I can see why everyone is saying doomsday for guilds that raid 25’s. Being the ex-guild leader of a raiding guild myself I can say that this news would scare the pee right outta me.

It’s always been hard enough being a 25m guild, recruitment is a constant battle. Dealing with vacations, pregnancies, burnout. Makes it hard to progress unless you’re the top 3 guilds on the realm. I can only imagine it’s even worse right now due to Cataclysm being so far out and no real content patches coming.

But on the flipside, there are, and always have been perks to 10m raiding. As people have stated, it’s a more tight-knit group where strategies play out better, and drama is rare. When I was raiding on our 25 nights.. by the end of the night usually morale was low. We were bashing our heads against the wall every week. All due to attendance and having those 5-10 players who you’re carrying. On the weekends we started a 10’s group. Our best players.. and it was probably some of the most fun I’ve ever had.

Now I’m all for large scale raiding. To me it’s not raiding unless you have 50+ people (Go EQ).. but that dinosaur is extinct. We live in a day where raids are never any bigger than 25, and even that number seems to be dwindling.

Back on track. I like the changes announced. I do think how they stand right now kills any motivation to do 25’s, except for the “bigger group experience”

Now onto the lockout timer changes. This I think is ridiculous. Only being able to do one, or the other, and not both. There is a myriad of instances you could bring up where the proposed lockout changes will be an annoyance to players. Sure it slows down the players getting gear.. and thus progressing. But it creates millions of little issues for guild leaders and officers. We’ll find ways to deal with it, but it’s still a pain in the ass.

Age of Conan: Rise of the Godslayer

The expansion for the game that had one of the worst launches is now out! Apparently.. Funcom actually did a pretty good job. There’s bugs, lag, and crashes. But it’s pretty much standard for a launch. No massive bugs. They did have more server downtime than they expected, but everything is up and ready for some asian styled ass-whoopin.

The positive buzz has me re-subbed. So I’m trying to blow through Tortage on my new Necromancer so I can see the new Khitai 20-40 area. I have to admit, being back in this game. They have done alot.. it’s still not completely polished. But I would say it’s 20x better than it was at launch. So far.

Rumored EQ2’s Next Expansion to be Velious

Awesome news! EQ2 has always been one of my favorites. It would be my main game if it had a strong low-mid level population. They keep the content rolling and have a strong relationship with their players. If Velious is the next expansion (which I am almost certain) and you haven’t checked out EQ2 before. I recommend doing so. Velious is an amazing continent, and I’m sure it will be even more amazing in EQ2. It was hands down the best expansion in EQ1.

Ah Coldain Ring Wars, how I miss you.

Have a happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

